jump to navigation

The iPhone… a handheld Mac Computer January 31, 2009

Posted by Donnie in Computers, Gadgets, iPhone.
Tags: , ,
trackback

main_overview20081217Since I was a kid I’ve been called a gadget freak. I guess it started with a Radio Shack 4 channel handheld police scanner. And of course I went through the CB Radio phase, wristwatch calculaters, a Casio DataWatch, if it was new technology I desired it.

In December 1980 I purchased my first computer, the new Business Computer, a Tandy Model III. This was before IBM had even released it’s first personal computer and, MicroSoft who? I think Bill, Steve and Steve were still working in their garages. If you don’t know who I mean, never mind, haha. don’t even get me started on Laptops, I’ve owned so many different models, to name a few; even a Osborne 1, a Sharp PC-5000, a Toshiba 3100.

But today I own what has to be the ultimate Gadget…. the Apple Iphone 3G. It’s a cellphone… BUT so, so much more. It’d my digital  camera… my iPod…. my PDA (yes I had all the Palms’ too), my alarm clock, my GPS, my handheld game machine and so much more!

I’ve been a Blackberry owner (CrackBerry) but to me the iPhone is generations ahead of the Blackberry or a Palm Treo (yes I’ve had a couple of them also). Apple redefined the Smartphone market with what I like to call the “GeniusPhone.”  Yes everyone is playing catchup and there are some other nice SmartPhone on the market, but none are up to par with the GeniusPhone.

Don’t get me wrong the iPhone is not perfect, depending on who you ask it has many drawbacks. When I first switched from my Treo 750P, I hated the touchscreen keyboard. But today as I have grow accustom to using it I really like it. I have 4 major issues with the iPhone.

1. No cut and paste….. why Apple, why?? It’s such a minor detail thats EVERYONE is screaming for!!

2. No MMS… Every free iphone on the market has it, so why doesn’t the iPhone have it Apple?

3. The SMS app needs work… Maybe it’s just me, but I really liked the capability of sending short pre-defined        text messages, again most phones call do this, but not the iPhone. Why Apple??

4. I guess this last item is more for AT&T, explain to me again what 3G is? I thought I knew, a new hi-Speed data connection for cellphones, right? The only catch is, in the 3 months since I upgraded to a 3G iPhone from my first generation iPhone I have NEVER, I mean NEVER found any 3G service here in North Carolina. So is 3G just a myth that you could charge $10 per month higher for?

I understand the rumor mill has a 3rd generation iPhone coming out in June. So what does Apple have in store for us iPhone addicts? I hope along with the faster processor and  additional memory that I’m sure they will add, that they go back to the BASICS and correct some details that SHOULD have been in the first phone. While I’m dreaming can I ask for true multi-user also??

Donnie

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

